Project IX — Pleiades


May 2 & 3, 2014. At Japan Society, New York. Project IX — Pléiades, a concert of percussion music by Iannis Xenakis, was conceived, directed and choreographed by Luca Veggetti and performed by percussionist Kuniko Kato with dancer Megumi Nakamura.

The program
Pléiades (1978) for six percussionists
1 Mélange
2 Métaux
3 Claviers
4 Peaux
Rebondes (1987-89) for solo percussion

starting01_700This image, at the opening, shows the screen placed diagonally across the stage

pleiades700Pléiades performance

This performance of Pléiades, performed solo by Kuniko Kato, presented by means of a state-of-the-art video sound/projection through the screen onstage, is accompanied by dancer Megumi Nakamura.

The percussion instruments used in Pléiades are marimba, xylophone, vibraphone, bass drum, timpani, flat drums, concert toms, roto tomes, and sixxen. The sixxen is a percussion instrument, made with metal boards and tubes, that Xenakis invented for this piece, and that Kuniko Kato built for her performance. The following brief excerpt is an example of its sound.

A selection from Pléiades illustrating the sound of the sixxen

Rebonds is a tour de force for percussionist Kuniko Kato ...



and in this performance, also for dancer Megumi Nakamura.

ix_dance&music700Photo by Julie Lemberger