Elliott Sharp: SysOrk


SysOrk is a large ensemble dedicated to performing algorithmic scores, graphic notation, and conductions created by composer and multi-instrumentalist Elliott Sharp.

SysOrk is neither fixed in personnel nor location but instead is situationally based. SysOrk debuted in December 2012 with concerts in Nagoya and Tokyo performing Sharp's graphic score Foliage. For this first New York concert of SysOrk, the ensemble will premiere the projected graphic score Sylva Sylvarum. The ensemble will also perform Flexagons, an algorithmic score composed in 2011.

SharpSylSyl Sylva Sylvarum

The players
Andrew Drury - drums, percussion
Terry Greene - trombone
James Ilgenfritz - contrabass
Judith Insell - viola
Ron Lawrence - viola
Tim Leopold - trumpet
Jenny Lin - piano
Chris McIntyre - trombone
Oscar Noriega - reeds
Jessica Pavone - viola
Reuben Radding - contrabass
Danny Tunick - percussion, vibraphone

Elliott Sharp - electroacoustic guitar, bass clarinet

Time and place
Wednesday, March 12 @ 8pm
Thursday, March 13 @ 8pm

509 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn
New York

Sharp is the 2015 winner of the Berlin Prize in Music Composition. His recent string quartets Tranzience and Mare Undarum have been premiered by JACK and Sirius quartets. Violin virtuoso Hilary Hahn has been performing Storm of the Eye, a work commissioned by her.

More at Facebook